March 5, 2008

A new Journey

Posted in multiple sclerosis at 1:34 pm by melissasummers

At the hospital for Day 2 of Solumedrol InfusionBecause of my experience with my right leg last year, I was able to immediately realize that the troubles with my left leg was due to another relapse. Neurologist’s office was able to get me scheduled quickly and an early treatment started to begin this battle.

The first step is a 3 day IV infusion of Solumedrol, a steroid, to give the nerves a jump start on the healing process. Now Solumedrol is a unique experience. First, I am admitted to the hospital on an outpatient basis, meaning that I only have to be there during my IV infusion. This works out wonderfully as I can still attend work, take a long lunch break for my infusion, and then head back to work without much disruption in my day.

When I arrive at the hospital, I am nestled in a comfortable reclining chair. A nurse starts up an IV, and then adds the medication IV. The process takes a little over an hour. Now the fun part!! Once the Solumedrol begins to drip, a horrible taste develops. this I have learned to battle by bringing in sour candies to keep in my mouth. Now a benefit of this drip is I now have a nice colorful red glow to my face! this delights me as I have had NO color at all due to being under the weather. I have just completed my second day of the three day infusion process. I spent last night sleepless, a common side effect of the medication, and sweating like crazy!  So far , no fantasies of eating omelets at 1:30am, like I had last year have arrived. But I am prepared with a full carton of eggs in my fridge when that craving visits me!

1 Comment »

  1. Heidi said,

    Melissa,
    Thanks for including me on your blog. Iam so sorry to hear of your relapse but ADMIRE your strength and courage! Please let me know if you would like me to keep you company anytime you are at the hospital or any other time for that matter. I’m here for you. Jilli & I plan to sign up to walk with your team. Take care & let me know if I can do anything for you.
    Heidi


Leave a Reply

