March 29, 2008

Stairs!

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:03 am by melissasummers

This week I have gone up and down a flight of stairs a few times!  How to explain…the feeling of joy, the feeling of accomplishment, just THE feeling. Yes, my life exists without using stairs, but darn it, that sure made me happy.  I didn’t miss not using the stairs, but that feat left me with an aura, or bubble of happiness surrounding my person.

Of course, the day after first walking the stairs I had a terrible day with my balance!  Weebles wobble but they dont fall down was my slogan that day.  I really know inside that those days I should be using my cane. I keep one in my car, so that there is always one handy wherever I may roam. But, once again, is it pride, or convenience that just makes using a cane at work difficult for me? I have no troubles using it when I am in a store. I know it is a tool to fight the changes and allow me to maintain myself, yet there is that little part of me that sees it as a reflection of my disability. 

But overall, there is physical proof of me regaining my strength!  Yes, to all that have that question in your heads: I DO NOT play on the stairs on the days that my balance is off! My brain has not had that much damage to it!

3 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    To my delightful daughter:
    All you have to do is look in a mirror and take a few moments to admire the woman staring back at you- her outer and inner strengths-will help you see just how delightful you really are.

  2. Lisa Emrich said,

    Hi Melissa,
    I came across your blog during my ongoing search for other MSers throughout the blogosphere.

    “Weebles wobble but they don’t fall down.”
    That’s a phrase which floats through my head often and makes me laugh inside.

    take care,
    Lisa

  3. melissasummers said,

    Welcome Lisa, I hope you enjoyed your visit, please feel free to return.
    This is my first attempt at blogging and am surprised at the response so far!


Leave a Reply

