April 13, 2008

Posted in multiple sclerosis at 2:04 am by melissasummers

While there is no cure for MS, there are medications that can help slow the disease process. These medications are called interferons. The fun part of interferons is that you get to play with needles! WooHoo! Oh the fun things one can do with sharp needles, like jab them in your thigh, or sink them into your hip, ready to sign up for this exciting experience yet?

What interferons do is help lesson the chances of having a relapse (having a nerve get damaged and shut down-remember the mouse and the wiring?) Relapses can still happen, as I have recently discovered while on the medication. But the medication can help by having less damaging relapses and quicker recovery times. Another fact that I am personally discovering as my leg is getting better day by day! The interferons are not without side effects, the most common being flu like symptoms. For me, this was an understatement the first month. After my first injection , my fever was so bad my entire body shook, my jaw and teeth ached from chattering and I made many trips to the restroom to relieve my poor stomach. Now these symptoms ease up over time, and I now only run a fever-sometimes “violent” and sleepless, and sometimes just a low grade fever with body aches for the day afterwards.  I take my injections on Fridays, giving myself Saturdays to regain my strength and rest my body..Saturday plans are usually very  mellow, but isn’t that how Saturdays should be?

Now I have to admit, there was a point in time that I seriously considered to stop the injections. I had my reasons, and to me they were logical.  Thankfully, I had a friend that convinced me the shots were necessary, and thankfully I seen the logic in that. Thank you Duck, for making me realize the entire picture of that decision. Now I am grateful for that advice and thankful that I continued the injections. If I had quit taking them, I would have blamed this relapse on the fact that I wasn’t on anything to prevent it, and my recovery on this relapse may have been an entirely different experience.

 

Leave a Reply

